How to Reinstate an Ohio Suspended License?
A suspension or revocation means you’ve lost your privileges to drive. Testing this decision could lead to serious punishments including longer suspensions, fines, and even jail time. There are several reasons why Ohio driver’s licenses are suspended from lack of insurance to alcohol and drug-related troubles.
What can you do when you’re forced to surrender your OH license?
My License is Suspended, Now What?
Avoid any driving with a suspended or revoked license.
You will need to wait out the duration of the suspension/revocation and pay fines before a license is reinstated or you can re-apply. The duration and fees depend on your activities.
Suspensions can last from a few months to many years.
If the suspension was a surprise, check the status of your license on the OH BMV website. Or, call a local office inquiring the decision and what steps you’ll need to take moving forward.
Making an Appeal
You may appeal to the Ohio BMV through formal and informal means:
- By mail
- During court appearance
You may request an administrative hearing if your suspension resulted from insurance issues. Ohio does a regular random insurance check, it’s possible your uninsured vehicle was detected. Yet, each vehicle has its own circumstances – request and pay $30 for a hearing request if you wish to contest.
Certain individuals may appeal and receive a restricted driver’s license. This license lets them drive on a case-by-case basis if approved by the courts. Testing and fees still apply. Contact your local BMV for information about restricted licensing if you’re currently suspended.
Why Your License (Probably) Got Suspended
There are many reasons for suspension and revocations – including:
- Traffic violations
- Alcohol/drug violations
- No liability insurance
- DWI & DWI
- Unpaid tax debts
- Refusing the BAC test
- Safety violations
The length of your license suspension depends on your actions and if they were a repeated offense. Some actions may cause extra penalties from the court system. It’s best to talk with a legal counsel to understand your rights.
Reinstating a Suspended License in Ohio
Reinstating a suspended license may include doing the following:
- Submit proof of insurance
- Plead or pay traffic violation tickets
- Pay and catch-up on child support payments
- Pay mandatory files and jail time for DUI
- Retaking a traffic course or DUI program
You will also need to pay any additional fines and fees associated with the suspension.
What you’ll usually do when reinstating a license:
- Mail documents and payment to the OH BMV
- Or: Visit an OH BMV
- Provide proof:
- Driving course (if applicable)
- Driving test (if applicable)
- Pay any necessary fees, including:
- 12-point suspension: $40
- Admin revocation: $40
- Child support: $25
- Court suspension: $40
- Immobilization: $100
- Random selection: $150
- …and many others (see list)
- Pay reinstatement fees
Mail your documents and payment to:
Ohio Bureau of Motor Vehicles
Attn. RE Fee
P.O. Box 16520
Columbus OH 43216-6520
You may pay reinstatement fees in person, over the phone, or online. Ohio has a repayment fee for those having met all other requirements minus the fees. This is available with the BMV 1152 form.
Do all these items, and you’ll soon be back on the road!
Once you have provided the required information and documents, paid all applicable fees, and taken any necessary tests or driving courses, your license will be reinstated. With DMV Connect’s help, you can get back on the road in no time. Thanks for using our services!
If you need further assistance with reinstating your driver’s license or have any questions, please don’t hesitate to contact us. Our customer service team is available to help you with your needs and is happy to answer any inquiries you may have. Thank you again for choosing DMV Connect! We hope we’ve been able to make your experience as smooth and stress-free as possible.
Drive safe! Have fun out there. 🙂