Oklahoma DUI Laws, Limits, and Penalties

Reading Time: 2 minutes

The Oklahoma Department of Public Safety (DPS) has zero tolerance for driving under the influence or DUI of drugs or alcohol. A DUI conviction will suspend your Oklahoma driver’s license for a while. Moreover, you may require to take drug or alcohol courses and have an ignition interlock device (IID) install in your vehicle. Also, pay hefty fines if you want to drive again.

Oklahoma DUI Laws Legal Limits

The Oklahoma DUI Laws have set limits to determine when a driver is above the legal threshold of drugs or alcohol. To determine if a person is over the limit, a blood alcohol concentration test or BAC is administered. The results to determine the level of intoxication will vary for an adult, minor, and a commercial driver.

You will be over the limit if your BAC test reads:

  • 0.08% or more for adults (21 years and older)
  • Any measurable amount for minors (under 21 years old)
  • 0.04% or more for commercial drivers

Testing under the legal limit does not exempt you from penalties.

BAC Test Refusal

According to the Oklahoma DUI Laws, if you refuse a BAC test your Oklahoma driver’s license will result in immediate revocation. The revocation can remain from 180 days and up to 3 years. You will also face more severe punishments and hefty fines.

Oklahoma DUI Laws & Penalties

The Oklahoma DUI Laws include administrative and criminal penalties. The DPS issues the administrative penalties and the court the criminal penalties. The type of offense will determine the penalties. Repeat offenders are likely to get more penalties and fines when compare with first-time offenders.

Administrative Penalties

For Adults

BAC result of 0.05% to 0.08%:

  • 1st-time suspension: 30 days
  • 2nd-time suspension: 6 months
  • 3rd suspension: 1 year

BAC result of 0.08% or higher:

  • 1st offense: 180 days suspension
  • 2nd offense within 10 years: 1-year suspension
  • 3rd offense within 10 years: 3 years suspension


BAC any amount or test refusal:

  • 1st offense: 6 months suspension
  • 2nd offense: 12 months suspension
  • 3rd offense: 36 months suspension

Criminal Penalties

BAC result of 0.05% to 0.08%:

  • Fine: $100 to $500
  • Imprisonment: up to 6 months

DUI conviction with BAC of 0.08% and higher:

  • 1st offense:
    • Misdemeanor charge
    • Imprisonment of 10 days to 1 year
    • Fine: up to $1,000
  • 2nd offense in 10 years:
    • Felony charge
    • Imprisonment: 1 to 5 years
  • 2nd felony offense:
    • Felony charge
    • Imprisonment: 1 to 7 years
    • Fine: up to $5,000
  • 3rd offense:
    • Felony charge
    • Imprisonment: 1 to 10 years
    • Fine: up to $5,000

Oklahoma Driver’s License Reinstatement

After completing your suspension and paying the fines, the DPS will inform you of the reinstatement requirements. You must comply with the DPS to get your license back.

Due to the violation of your license suspension, you may get a provisional license to start driving and later get an unrestricted license.