Oregon DUI Laws, Limits, and Penalties

The Oregon Driver and Motor Vehicle Services Division have harsh punishments for drivers caught driving under the influence of intoxicants or DUII. To determine who is operating a motor vehicle over the legal limit, a blood alcohol concentration (BAC) test is administered. The result varies among drivers. A conviction of DUII will result with administrative and criminal penalties.

Oregon DUI Laws

At the time of your arrest due to a DUII, the arresting officer will confiscate your Oregon driver’s license. He or she will give you a temporary permit for 30 days. After the 30 days, your license is suspended. You will have with ten days of receiving your ticket to challenge the suspension.

Refusing to take the BAC test will automatically suspend your license. It will also add more fines to the current one.

You may request a hearing by:

  • Online
  • Faxing a written request to the DMV Hearings Case Management Unit at (503) 945-5521
  • Mailing or bring in person a written request to:
    • DMV Hearings Case Management Unit
    • 1905 Lana Ave NE
    • Salem, OR 97314

The hearing will be done by phone unless you or the arresting officer request it to do in person.

If your suspension remains, the DMV will issue the following punishments:

  • Failing the BAC test:
    • 1st offense: 90 days suspension
    • 2nd offense within five years: 1-year suspension
  • Refusing to take the BAC test:
    • 1st offense: 1-year suspension
    • 2nd offense within five years: 3 years suspension
  • Refusing to take a urine test:
    • 1st offense: 1-year suspension
    • 2nd offense within five years: 3 years suspension
  • Refusal to take a blood test while receiving medical care after an accident:
    • 1st offense: 1-year suspension
    • 2nd offense within five years: 3 years suspension
  • Failing a blood test while receiving medical attention after a crash:
    • 1st offense: 90 days suspension
    • 2nd offense within five years: 1-year suspension

In addition to a suspension because of refusing to take any of the tests, you must also take:

  • DUII Treatment
  • Install an ignition interlock device in your car
  • Provide proof of financial responsibility when driving
  • Pay reinstatement fee: $75

Hardship Permits and Reinstatement

If you complete a part of the suspension time, you may qualify for a hardship permit or a restrictive license. You must meet the requirements to set by DMV. To begin the process, you must meet these requirements:

  • Pay the driver’s license reinstatement fee: $75
  • Complete the Hardship/Probationary Permit Application
  • Pay the cost: $50
  • Documents to verify your employment
  • Certificate of Liability Insurance
  • An approved ignition interlock device
  • Completed DUII Treatment certificate

With acceptance, you will get a restricted driver’s license.