Oregon Car Insurance Requirements, Laws, and Quotes

Distracted Driving
Reading Time: 2 minutes

All Oregon drivers must carry auto insurance if they get behind-the-wheel.

This article shares what insurance minimums you must carry. The article also covers the repercussions of not having it. And, provides OR insurance quotes if you’re shopping for coverage in Oregon.

The Oregon Car Insurance Requirements and Minimums

Oregon requires the following required auto insurance coverage:

  • Bodily Injury Liability Coverage: $25,000 per person / $50,000 per accident
  • Property Damage Liability Coverage: $20,000 per accident
  • Uninsured Motorist Coverage Bodily Injury: $25,000 per person / $50,000 per accident
  • Personal Injury Protection (PIP): $15,000 per accident

Your final insurance needs will depend on your driving abilities, history, and needs. Some vehicles, like when leasing, may require collision and compressive coverage.

What are the Penalties for Driving without Insurance in Oregon?

Driving without insurance is a serious offense in the state of Oregon.

The fines and penalties depend on your actions when behind-the-wheel. You can expect anything from fees and loss of driving privileges to potential jail time.

Typical penalties for driving in Oregon without insurance include:

  • Fines ($260 presumptive if you go to court) and $130 to $1,000+ for the offense
  • License and registration suspension plus applicable impoundment
  • Required proof of insurance coverage for 3-years (SR-22)
  • Fees ($75) to reinstate your license plus other court costs

Driving without insurance in Oregon is a Class B violation.

You will receive the same penalties whether it’s your first or subsequent offense. You may appeal the fine/penalties or pay the Plea of No Contest $260 fee. This plea, however, assumes you didn’t make a major offense so be aware you could still see fines and penalties if you made a serious offense.

Oregon is strict about driving without insurance especially if a serious accident happens causing bodily injury or death. Fines can reach thousands of dollars and years of jail time if your actions were deemed negligent. The driver may also sue for personal or property damage!

Compare Quotes for Oregon Insurance Policies

Whether you just moved to Oregon or you’re a resident, you need auto insurance if you’re getting behind-the-wheel and on state roads and highways. The insurance helps protect you from uninsured motorists while providing if you’re the one at fault.

Your intent may be finding cheap Oregon auto insurance to cover the state’s minimums. You may decide to upgrade your insurance policy once you’re driving. Many OR car insurance companies offer good driver discounts lowering their premiums – this also applies to good students!