How to Renew Your Car Registration in Oregon

Reading Time: 3 minutes

The Oregon Driver & Motor Vehicle Services oversees your vehicle’s registration renewal. You’ll need to complete a registration renewal to continue legally driving in the state (and elsewhere). The process doesn’t take long if you follow the steps included in this renewal guide.

You should receive a renewal notice from ODOT before the expiration.

The renewal notice covers information like whether you’ll need to pass an emissions test at a DEQ, estimated fees & taxes, and which renewal methods you can use. If you did not receive the notice, you can contact the DMV or check online for your details.

You can renew your vehicle’s registration:

  • In-person
  • Online
  • By Mail

Failing to renew your car’s registration can result in penalties. Given your license isn’t suspended or you have other restrictions from completing it – use the sections below to complete the renewal steps.

Oregon Car or Truck Registration Renewal: Step-by-Step

It’s your responsibility to get auto insurance when renewing your registration. The insurance should cover at least the bare minimum. Your information should be in the system but make a copy of our auto policy to bring with you just in case.

Here are the three ways to renew your registration:

Renewing In-Person

Rather handle business face-to-face? A trip to your local DMV shouldn’t take long.

Here is what you’ll do when renewing in person:

  1. Present your OR driver’s license or ID
  2. Pass the applicable DEQ emissions tests
    1. File the 735-1400 form
  3. File your renewal information (either):
    1. Filing the Application for Registration, Renewal, Replacement, or Transfer of Plates and/or Stickers (Form 735-268)
    2. Renewal notice
  4. Pay your renewal fees and taxes
    1. Passenger vehicles: $112
    2. Motorcycles: $78
    3. Hybrid/electric: $78
    4. Multnomah County (extra): $19/year

You’ll get your plate sticker and registration after completing these steps.

Renewing Online

Online renewal is a preferred method since it’s quick and easy, without having to take a trip to your local DMV or wait by the mailbox. You will need your renewal form, insurance information, and a form of payment to process the online renewal.

Some restrictions when renewing online include if:

  • Your registration expired more than 75 days ago
  • A DEQ Declaration of Exemption is required or not passed the inspection
  • Your information (like an address) is not correct or needs stickers mailed to a different address
  • If you don’t own the vehicle on the renewal form

Given you pass the requirements and have the documents ready:

  1. Visit the Oregon Renewal Portal
  2. Follow the on-screen prompts
    1. Vehicle renewal info
    2. Select your renewal options
    3. Confirm certifications
    4. Verify your info
    5. Enter your payment
  3. Print your receipt

Your receipt acts as a temporary registration for 30 days until your new one arrives in the mail.

Renewing by Mail

Mail-in renewal is the same process as doing it in person:

  1. Pass the applicable DEQ emissions tests
  2. File your renewal information (either):
    1. Application for Registration, Renewal, Replacement or Transfer of Plates and/or Stickers
    2. Renewal notice
  3. Select your plates
  4. Calculate your ODOT fees
  5. Include a check or money order to “DMV”
  6. Submit and mail the documents

Mail your registration renewal documents to:

DMV Vehicle Mail

1905 Lana Ave NE

Salem, OR  97314

You should receive your new information in a few weeks.

About OR Emissions Testing

Those living in Portland-Metro and Medford-Ashland will have their vehicles inspected if:

  • Portland-Metro: Vehicles 1975 and newer
  • Medford-Ashland: Vehicles 20 years old and older

These inspections take place at your local Department of Environment Quality. You may also choose to renew at the DEQ, after the inspection, if you bring your renewal notice.

Not sure if your vehicle needs an inspection? Check the ODOT’s vehicle inspection qualifiers for details.

Need to Replace Your Registration Card, Stickers, or Plates?

You can get a new registration card by:

  1. Filing the Form 735-268
  2. Submitting your application and:
    1. Include $5 addressed to the DMV
    2. Send it by mail (to the address listed above)
    3. Visit and drop off docs at a DMV

Getting new stickers and plates will follow the same process as submitting payment based on your calculated fees.

Congratulations, You’re Done!

You’ve completed the OR vehicle registration renewal.

Keep track of your expiration date by writing it on your calendar. Otherwise, keep an eye out for the next time a renewal notice comes your way. Forgoing renewal can land you in trouble with fines and penalties so don’t let this lapse. And, as always, continue practicing safe driving!