Rhode Island License Renewal

The Division of Motor Vehicles (DMV) oversees the Rhode Island license renewal process.

The state sends a renewal notice before the license expiration date. Failing to renew your license on-time may result in penalties, a need to retake tests, and/or loss of driving privileges if pulled over. You cannot renew your license if it’s expired beyond 5 years (to which you’ll need to re-apply).

Valid Rhode Island license renewals are available via:

  • In-person
  • Online

You can check your license validity and expiration date by requesting driving records. Otherwise, take note of its expiration on the card or if you’ve marked it on the calendar. Or, go to your local DMV and complete the renewal process when it’s appropriate.

The following sections share the step-by-step process to renew your RI driver’s license.

How to Renew Your RI Driver’s License

A valid RI driver’s license is required if you drive on state roads and highways. Rhode Island auto insurance is a requirement, too, if you plan to operate your vehicle. The renewal process doesn’t take long if you have documents ready and follow the steps below.

You will do the following to renew in-person:

  1. Go to an RI DMV location
  2. Present your RI driver’s license or ID document or renewal notice
  3. Submit a completed Application for License, Identification Card and Permits (LI-1)
  4. Verify your SSN with a Social Security card
  5. Pay the Rhode Island renewal fees
    1. 5 Years: $61.50
    2. 71 and Older: Pro-rated

Congratulations! You’ve successfully renewed your Rhode Island driver’s license. You’ll receive a temporary license until the permanent one arrives by mail in a few weeks.

Online Renewals

Rhode Island license renewals are available to those with a valid license not expired beyond 180 days.

You will do the following:

  1. Visit Rhode Island’s online renewal portal
  2. Input your information:
    1. License number
    2. Last name
    3. Date of Birth
    4. Zip code
  3. Follow the on-screen prompts
  4. Pay the renewal fees
    1. 5 Years: $61.50
    2. 71 and Older: Pro-rated

Your license should be processed within a few days and the permanent license will arrive in a few weeks. Keep a copy of your receipt and call the DMV if you haven’t received it after a 2 months.

Mail-in Renewals (Out-of-State and Military Members)

Mail-in renewals are available for Rhode Island residents currently living outside of the state and aren’t returning before their license expires. The renewal has several requirements and generally takes longer than an online renewal.

Requirements to renew by mail include:

  • Filing an Eye Examination
  • Filing the Application for License
  • Provide proof of ID
  • Payment for the renewed license

You will send this information to:

Division of Motor Vehicles

600 New London Ave

Cranston, RI 02920

The license is good for 2 years until you return to Rhode Island.

Become a Better Rhode Island Driver

Looking for more information and guides to become a better Rhode Island driver? Check out our RI DMV topics, browse our DMV directory, or get active in the community!