Six-Month Passport Validity Rule

Reading Time: < 1 minute

Many countries enforce the six-month passport validity rule. Others that don’t have a minimum of one-month validity law for a passport. So, before you plan a vacation in another country, become aware of this rule in enforcing. If it is, get a passport before traveling to avoid being stopped from boarding your flight or entering your destination country.

Countries that have the Six-Month Passport Validity Rule

North America

Canada, Mexico

Central America

Belize, Costa Rica, El Salvador, Guatemala, Nicaragua, Panama*, Honduras*
*These countries have a one-month passport-validity rule

South America

Argentina*, Bolivia, Brazil*, Chile*, Columbia*, Ecuador, Guyana, Paraguay*, Peru*, Suriname, Uruguay*, Venezuela
*These countries have a one-month passport-validity rule


Antigua and Barbuda, Barbados*, Dominican Republic*, Grenada, Guadeloupe, Haiti*, Martinique, St. Barthelemy, St. Kitts, St. Lucia, Trinidad and Tobago
*These countries have a one-month passport-validity rule


Austria, Belgium, Czech Republic, Denmark, Estonia, Finland, France, Germany, Greece, Hungary, Iceland, Italy, Latvia, Liechtenstein, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Malta, Netherlands, Norway, Poland, Portugal, Slovak Republic, Slovenia, Spain, Sweden, Switzerland


Algeria, Angola, Botswana, Burundi, Cameroon, Central African Republic, Chad, Congo, Cote d’Ivoire, Djibouti, Equatorial Guinea, Eritrea, Ethiopia, Gabon, Kenya, Madagascar, Malawi, Mauritania, Mozambique, Namibia, Rwanda, São Tomé and Príncipe, Somalia, South Sudan, Sudan, Tanzania, Uganda, Zambia

Middle East

Bahrain, Egypt, Iran, Iraq, Israel, Jordan, Kuwait, Saudi Arabia, United Arab Emirates, West Bank/Gaza Strip, Yemen

Asia and India

Bahrain, Bangladesh, Bhutan, Brunei, Burma, Cambodia, China, Indonesia, India, Iran, Iraq, Israel, Jordan, Kazakhstan, Kuwait, Kyrgyzstan, Laos, Malaysia, Mongolia, Nepal, Oman, Pakistan, Philippines, Qatar, Russia, Saudi Arabia, Singapore, Sri Lanka, Tajikistan, Thailand, Timor-Leste (East Timor), Turkmenistan, Turkey, United Arab Emirates, Vietnam, Yemen

South Pacific

French Polynesia, Kiribati, Marshall Islands, Micronesia, Palau, Papua New Guinea, Tonga, Tuvalu, Vanuatu