South Dakota Car Insurance Requirements, Laws, and Quotes

The front end of a vintage car
Reading Time: 2 minutes

All South Dakota drivers must carry auto insurance if they get behind the wheel unless they show fiscal responsibility. Insurance not only protects you when driving but others on and off the road. After all, you never know if an accident may happen!

South Dakota requires a 20/50/25 minimum insurance coverage.

This article shares what those insurance minimums are that you must carry. And the repercussions of not having it. And provides SD insurance quotes if you’re shopping for coverage in South Dakota.

The South Dakota Car Insurance Requirements and Minimums

South Dakota requires the following required auto insurance coverage:

  • Bodily Injury Liability: $25,000 per person / $50,000 per accident
  • Property Damage Liability: $25,000 per accident
  • Uninsured Motorist: $25,000 per person / $50,000 per accident
  • Uninsured Motorist: $25,000 per person / $50,000 per accident

Your final insurance needs will depend on your driving abilities, history, and needs. Some vehicles, like when leasing, may require collision and compressive coverage.

Penalties for Driving Without Insurance in South Dakota

The state of South Dakota has variable penalties if you’re found driving without insurance. This could include a hefty fine to jail time. A possible license and registration suspension may happen, too!

Typical penalties for driving in South Dakota without insurance include:

  • Fines ranging from $100 to $500
  • Possible jail time of up to 30 days
  • License suspension from 30 days to 1 year
  • SR-22 insurance for three years
  • Higher insurance premiums
  • Costs for reinstatement fees

You may be required to show proof of insurance at any time when on the road such as during a road stop or when pulled over. Failing to show insurance coverage can result in any number of fines, possible jail time, and other penalties restricting your driving privileges.

South Dakota does not have variable penalties for repeated insurance offenses compared to other states. Instead, it’s a Class 2 misdemeanor to which any extra fines and penalties are dictated by state courts. Regardless, you may face serious consequences depending on your actions.

You will complete your sentencing and pay fines before being able to reinstate your driving privileges.

Compare Quotes for South Dakota Insurance Policies

Whether you just moved to South Dakota or you’re a resident, you need auto insurance if you’re getting behind the wheel and on state roads and highways. The insurance helps protect you from uninsured motorists while providing if you’re the one at fault.

Your intent may be finding cheap South Dakota auto insurance to cover the state’s minimums. You may decide to upgrade your insurance policy once you’re driving. Many SD car insurance companies offer good driver discounts lowering their premiums.

Check to ensure you’re given the best coverage. Else, shop for new coverage by comparing insurers.


Regarding auto insurance in South Dakota, you must maintain the minimum coverage levels to drive legally. If you do not have an active policy, you may face fines and fees when trying to reinstate your driving privileges. Shopping around and comparing quotes can help you find the right coverage for your needs at a price that fits your budget.

Remember, the best policy gives you the right amount of coverage for your needs at a price you can afford.