Texas Car Insurance Requirements, Laws, and Quotes

Reading Time: 2 minutes

In Texas, the law requires you to have Texas car insurance. Anyone caught driving without insurance will face stiff penalties from the Texas Department of Motor Vehicles. Insurance companies have their requirements each person must meet to get car insurance, if you don’t meet the requirements, you can purchase your insurance. To get the lowest premium cost, you must have a good driving record. Also, your location, age, and sex can determine the cost of your insurance.

Texas Car Insurance Requirements

In Texas, you can have only liability insurance to comply with the law. With liability insurance, you have coverage to pay for any damages or injuries you may cause in a collision. However, your liability insurance must these minimum limits:

  • $25,000 for property damage
  • $30,000 for each injured person
  • $60,000 for injuries per accident

Other Texas Insurance Options

There are other insurance available to provide better coverage especially if you have a family. Some of this insurance also assist with damages that may result from the natural disaster. Here is a breakdown of other insurance options:

  • Collision insurance which helps to cover damages caused by collision
  • Comprehensive insurance which covers damages caused by a natural disaster or weather
  • Uninsured/underinsured drivers are insurance that protects against such drivers
  • Towing and labor is in case your vehicle breaks down and will need towing and repair

Texas Proof of Insurance

Once you get insurance, you will be given a card as proof. The card is what you present when asked to show proof. You can get the annual insurance or six months which most company provides. You will need insurance proof when you register or renew your car registration. When you apply for a driver’s license, insurance proof is necessary.  Likewise when you get your car inspected. But most importantly, when stopped by a police officer or in a car accident, you must show your proof of insurance.

Texas Violation Fines and Penalties

Getting caught without insurance can result in fines but most importantly, your license is suspended. Here is a breakdown of fines and penalties to pay if caught without insurance:

  • First time conviction: $175 – $350
  • Additional convictions:
    • $350 – $1,000
    • Possible license suspension
    • Car impounded

Texas Car Insurance Quotes

There are many factors that will determine the cost of a car insurance premium. To get the lowest cost, it better to look around. Most insurance companies use the same factors to determine a quote. For example, your:

  • Age
  • Sex
  • Location
  • Type of vehicle
  • Year of vehicle
  • Driving record
  • Length of driving

For these reasons, you will see a young driver has a higher insurance premium than a person driving for many years. Longevity does mean you will have a low cost if you have a driving record with points.