Texas DMV Point System: What is It? How does it Work?
Like many other states, the Texas Department of Motor Vehicles uses a point system to penalize drivers with violations. Offenses are given points and if a certain number of points are received, you can have your license suspended. Points added to your driving record can be removed or remained on your driving record for up to three years. Texas DMV will also attach additional charges, known as surcharges, to violators if points are accumulated in a short period.
Texas DMV Point System
There are different violations a driver may commit. For example, there are moving violations. A moving violation will result with two points added to your driving record. These points can remain on your record for up to three years.
Another violation that will result with points added to your driving record is a collision. If you are the cause of a collision, the Texas DMV will add 3 points to your driving record. Again, these points can stay on your record for three years.
Texas License Suspensions
Accumulating points in a short time will result with your Texas driver’s license suspended. In Texas, a violation may differ in counties but the point system is the same. If you have four moving violations or more within 12 months, your license will be suspended. A suspension is imminent if you receive seven moving violations or more in 24 months.
Other violations that will result with a license suspension are:
- Causing an accident and uninsured
- The violation involves drugs or alcohol
- Reckless driving resulting in a fatality
- Driving under the age limit
The Texas DMV applies surcharges to violators who receive a large number of points in a short period. The surcharge is additional fine that must be paid separate of the violation fees. Some surcharges must be paid annually for up to three years. Here are some reasons why a surcharge must be paid:
- Getting six points or more on your driving record
- Getting an automatic conviction for a serious offense such as:
- Driving without insurance
- Driving without a driver’s license
The Texas DMV assesses each driver record annually and based on the points accumulated; determine the surcharges that must be paid. For moving violations:
- Up to 6 points: $100
- Each additional point: $25
- DWI (1st time offender): $1000
- Driving without insurance: $250
- Driving without a license: $100
Texas Point Violations
The list below is a breakdown of violations that will result in two points added to your record. There may be more violations that are not on this list. Try to avoid these violations when driving:
- Failure to use turn signal
- Unsafe lane change
- Traveling under the speed limit
- Speeding over 10% of the speed limit
- Operating a vehicle recklessly
- Illegally passing on the right
- Child safety restraint violation
- Running a red light or stop sign
- Failure to yield the right of way to pedestrians
- Open alcohol container
- Fleeing the scene of an accident
Texas Defensive Driving Program
Some points can be removed from your driving record if you complete a defensive course. However, approval must come from the courts otherwise the points will remain. Also, not all violations will require a defensive driving course. To become eligible to take a defensive course, you must not:
- Have taken a defensive driving course in the last 12 months
- Have a commercial driver’s license
If you commit these violations and even if you complete a defensive driving course, the points added to your record will not be removed. These violations include:
- Speeding 25 MPH above the speed limit
- Driving without auto insurance
- Passing a school bus with flashing lights
- Violations that occur in a construction zone
- Fleeing the scene of an accident
Once you complete the defensive driving course, you can submit the certificate to the courts for approval. Only then will the points be removed from your driving record.