Utah Car Insurance Requirements, Laws, and Quotes

Reading Time: 2 minutes

All Utah drivers must carry auto insurance if they get behind-the-wheel.

This article shares what insurance minimums you must carry. The article also covers the repercussions of not having it. And, provides UT insurance quotes if you’re shopping for coverage in Utah.

The Utah Car Insurance Requirements and Minimums

Utah requires the following required auto insurance coverage:

  • Bodily Injury Liability: $25,000 per person / $65,000 per accident
  • Property Damage Liability: $15,000 per accident
  • Personal Injury Protection: $3,000 per accident
  • Uninsured Motorist: $25,000 per person / $65,000 per accident
  • Underinsured Motorist: $25,000 per person / $65,000 per accident

Your final insurance needs will depend on your driving abilities, history, and needs. Some vehicles, like when leasing, may require collision and compressive coverage.

What are the Penalties for Driving without Insurance in Utah?

Driving without insurance is a serious offense in the state of Utah.

The fines and penalties depend on your actions when behind-the-wheel. You can expect anything from fees and loss of driving privileges to potential jail time.

Typical penalties for driving in Utah without insurance include:

  • Up to $1,000 fine
  • Up to 180-days in jail
  • Up to 1-year license suspension
  • Required SR22 insurance for 3 years
  • $50 court surcharge
  • $30 license reinstatement
  • $100 registration reinstatement
  • Higher insurance premiums

In all, driving without insurance in Utah is a class B misdemeanor.

You may receive these penalties when being stopped or through the states electronic monitoring. Failing to provide proof of insurance will result in a 1st offense. Subsequent offenses carry heavier fines, fees, and possible jail time for your actions.

You may reduce your fines by getting SR22 insurance before your court appearance through the state’s compliance credit program. If you fail to do so, you will pay full fines and fees. You can expect additional fees when filing to reinstate your UT license after its suspension or revocation.

Utah is strict about driving without insurance especially if a serious accident happens causing bodily injury or death. Fines can reach thousands of dollars and years of jail time if your actions were deemed negligent. The driver may also sue for personal or property damage!

Compare Quotes for Utah Insurance Policies

Whether you just moved to Utah or you’re a resident, you need auto insurance if you’re getting behind-the-wheel and on state roads and highways. The insurance helps protect you from uninsured motorists while providing if you’re the one at fault.

Your intent may be finding cheap Utah auto insurance to cover the state’s minimums. You may decide to upgrade your insurance policy once you’re driving. Many UT car insurance companies offer good driver discounts lowering their premiums – this also applies to good students!