Utah DUI Laws, Limits, and Penalties

Reading Time: 2 minutes

The Utah DUI Laws paint a clear picture that driving while under the influence or driving will over the limit serves hefty penalties. You will get penalties from the Utah Department of Public Safety (DPS) and the court. The penalties come in two forms: administrative and criminal. How severe and hefty they will become is whether you are a first-time or repeat offender.

Utah DUI Laws

Administrative Penalties

The Utah DPS implements the administrative penalties. A conviction is not necessary to start the penalties. As soon as you are arrested, your license is taken away, and you are given a citation. After 30 days, the suspension begins. You will have within the 30 days to request a hearing.

The length of the suspension will vary on age, some prior arrests, and the BAC test result.  Drivers under 21 years automatically get a suspension regardless of their blood alcohol concentration.

Administrative Penalties for DUI arrest:

  • 21 years and older
    • 1st offense: 120 days
    • 2nd offense: 2 years
  • Under 21 years old
    • 1st offense: 6 months

Administrative penalties for refusing the BAC test:

  • 21 years and older
    • 1st offense: 18 months
    • 2nd offense: 36 months
  • Under 21 years old
    • 1st offense: until 21st birthdate OR
    • 2 years

Criminal Penalties

The court oversees criminal penalties. The penalties include:

  • Jail time
  • Community service
  • Fines plus court costs
  • License suspension
  • Treatment for drug and alcohol
  • Impound vehicle fees
  • Ignition Interlock Device (IID) and fees

A DUI conviction does not have points, but it still goes on your Utah driving record.

IID & Utah DUI Laws

As part of the recommendation, the DUI Laws incorporate the IID as part of the punishment for offenders. If you refuse the BAC test, you must install the IID in your car. Repeat offenders must also connect the device in their vehicle.

The court will approve the vendor, and you must pay for installation and maintenance until you no longer need the device. If you damage the device during its possession, you must pay for its repair.

Drivers 21 years and older must keep an IID for 18 months. Drivers under 21 years old must keep it for 3 years.

Utah DUI Laws Restrictions & Penalties

To become an Alcohol Restricted Driver (ARD), you must have a DUI conviction or refused the BAC test. If you are an ARD, you cannot have any trace of alcohol in your system while driving. If you are caught with alcohol, your license is revoked for 1 year.

During your arrest, your vehicle goes to the impound lot. You will have 30 days to pay the $350 fee. Otherwise, your car could be action off to cover any storage cost. To get your vehicle back, you must:

  • Show proof of ID
  • Your vehicle registration
  • Copy of the Vehicle Impound Report
  • Pay $350 fee

Reinstating Your Utah Driver’s License

To restore your driving privileges, you must complete all the administrative and criminal penalties. Besides, you must pay:

  • Administrative fee: $255
  • alcohol/drug-related offense reinstatement fee: $85
  • Per se arrest fee: $5
  • Refusal arrest fee: $5
  • Court conviction fee: $5

With approval, you must retake the written, visual, and road test to get a new Utah driver’s license.