Vermont Car Insurance Requirements, Laws, and Quotes

driving on a snowy road
Reading Time: 2 minutes

All Vermont drivers must carry auto insurance if they get behind the wheel unless they show fiscal responsibility. Insurance protects not only you when driving but others on the road. After all, you never know if an accident may happen!

This article shares what those insurance minimums are that you must carry. And the repercussions of not having it. And provides VT insurance quotes if you’re shopping for coverage in Vermont.

Vermont Car Insurance Minimum

Vermont requires the following required auto insurance coverage:

  • Bodily Injury Liability: $25,000 per person / $50,000 per accident
  • Property Damage Liability: $10,000
  • Uninsured Motorist Bodily Injury: $50,000 per person / $100,000 per accident
  • Uninsured Motorist Property Damage Coverage: $10,000 with a $150 deductible (if applicable)

Your final insurance needs will depend on your driving abilities, history, and needs—some vehicles, like when leasing, may require collision and compressive coverage.

Penalties for Driving Without Insurance in Vermont

The state of Vermont has variable penalties if you’re found driving without insurance. This could include a hefty fine to jail time. A possible license and registration suspension may happen, too!

Typical penalties for driving in Vermont without insurance include the following:

  • Up to $500 in civil penalties
  • Up to $100 for not having proof of insurance
  • Variable license suspension until insurance is proven/satisfied
  • Required SR22 insurance (up to 3 years)
  • Higher insurance premiums
  • Registration reinstatement costs

You may receive these penalties when being stopped or through the state’s electronic monitoring. Failing to provide proof of insurance will result in an offense as it is a requirement in the state.

You typically have seven days to report your insurance coverage. If you don’t within this time, your license gets suspended. The suspensions are lifted after you’ve proven insurance coverage.

Getting caught without insurance during a traffic violation results in a violation penalty and a possible license suspension if you don’t prove coverage within 20 days. And, causing an accident may result in a license revocation if you’re found to have caused it and without carrying coverage.

Compare Quotes for Vermont Insurance Policies

Whether you just moved to Vermont or you’re a resident, you need auto insurance if you’re getting behind the wheel and on state roads and highways. The insurance helps protect you from uninsured motorists while providing if you’re the one at fault.

Vermont is a Fault State meaning penalties and losses fall upon you who caused the accident. You’ll want proper coverage else you may face hefty costs! Check to ensure you’re given the best coverage else, shop for new coverage by comparing insurers.