Vermont Registration Renewal
The Vermont Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV) oversees your vehicle’s registration renewal.
You will receive a renewal notice and application about three weeks before your vehicle’s expiration by mail. If you didn’t receive a notice, you can file a Registration/Tax/Title Application (VD-119), pay the renewal fees, and drop it off at a local DMV in its place.
Failing to renew your vehicle’s registration does not carry a late penalty. Yet, you will get in trouble if you drive without it. It’s best to get it renewed if you plan to do any driving on state roads.
You can renew your Vermont vehicle registration:
- By Mail
- By Phone
You may check the status of your license by requesting driver records to see if there are any issues with your vehicle. Given you don’t have restrictions, follow along to complete the renewal process.
Vermont Car or Truck Registration Renewal: Step-by-Step
To renew your vehicle’s registration in Vermont, you’ll need to take a trip down to your local VT DMV. Or use their online system, phone, or mail-in option.
You will need to get a vehicle inspection (every year) to continue with the renewal process. You will get this done at a Vermont vehicle inspection station. The inspection costs a flat rate or hourly fee, depending on the station.
Ready? Let’s get everything sorted!
In-Person Registration Renewal
Do the following if you want to handle the renewal in person:
- Visit a VT DMV
- Or: Self-service kiosk
- Or: Some Vermont town clerk’s office
- Show your renewal notice/application
- Pay your registration renewal fees
Congratulations, you’ve completed the process!
Online Registration Renewal
Online renewal opens during the month your registration expires, and having a renewal notice.
You will then:
- Visit the VT DMV Express website
- Enter your information:
- Option #1: License number
- Option #2: License plate number
- Follow the on-screen prompts
- Pay your Vermont registration renewal fees
- Print your receipt
You’ll receive a temporary registration (good for ten days) until you receive your stickers and registration documents in about six business days by mail.
Mail-in Registration Renewal
The mail-in renewal involves doing the following:
- Sign your registration renewal notice
- Include payment for your renewal fees
- Send the documents to the address listed on the notice
You’ll get your documents and stickers in a week or two.
Phone Registration Renewals
Prefer to talk to a person over the phone? You’ll:
- Call the Vermont DMV at 866-259-5368
- Share your registration renewal notice details
- Pay using a credit or debit card
You should receive your documents and stickers by mail in a week or two.
Vermont Registration Renewal Fees and Taxes
The VT renewal fees depend on the following:
- Length of registration
Your typical 1-year registration costs include the following:
- Automobiles: $76
- Trucks (up to 6,099lbs): $76
- Electric vehicles: $74
- Motorcycles: $48
Your typical 2-year registration costs include the following:
- Automobiles: $140
- Trucks (up to 6,099lbs): $132 (gas) or $76 (diesel)
- Electric vehicles: $136
- Motorcycles: $96
Your local DMV will accept cash, checks, or money orders. The mail-in method accepts checks and money orders. And the online method lets you use credit/debit cards.
Refer to the DMV’s full list of registration fees if you need extra information about your fees.
Congratulations, You’re Done!
You’ve completed the Vermont vehicle registration renewal.
Keep track of your expiry date or keep an eye out for the renewal notice sometime next year. Forgoing renewal can land you in trouble with fines and penalties, so don’t let this lapse.
Continue practicing safe driving, respect the rules of the roads, and be nice to one another. Happy driving out there in Vermont!