How to Renew Your Car Registration in West Virginia
The West Virginia Division of Motor Vehicles oversees your vehicle’s registration renewal.
You’ll need to complete the renewal to continue (legally) driving. Your expiration depends on when you had registered and is noted on the registration documents.
You’ll receive a renewal notice from the WV DMV about 30 days before your vehicle’s expiration.
The notice shares the renewal date and other eligible information about your vehicle to make the renewal quick and easy. If you didn’t receive this notice, call your local WV DMV for driving records.
Most drivers can renew your vehicle’s registration:
- By Mail
Failing to renew your car’s registration can result in penalties. Given your license isn’t suspended or you have other restrictions from completing it – use the sections below to complete the renewal steps.
West Virginia Car or Truck Registration Renewal: Step-by-Step
Your registration renewal method will vary, depending on what’s mentioned on the notice.
If you’ve lost your tags sometime between the renewal you can have it replaced. See our duplicate title guide for more information about this process if it’s a requirement for your renewal. You will also want minimum auto insurance when renewing to legally drive on state roads.
Here are the ways to renew your vehicle’s registration in West Virginia:
Renewing in-person is your option if the renewal notice doesn’t state you can do so otherwise.
- Go to your local WV DMV office
- Present your WV driver’s license
- Provide a completed Registration Renewal Notice (DMV-44-TR) or registration card
- Show proof of auto insurance
- Provide your property tax receipt
- Pay the registration renewal fees
The clerk will process your information and complete the transaction.
Renewing by Mail
Mail-in renewals are available for residents in-state and out-of-state.
To renew your West Virginia vehicle registration by mail:
- Fill out the renewal notice
- Or: Print and complete one (DMV-44-TR form)
- Enclose your personal details:
- Copy of insurance
- Copy of property tax receipt
- Expiring registration card
- Include a check or money order for your renewal fees
Place everything an envelope and send it to the address listed on the renewal form:
PO Box 17110
Charleston, WV 25317
You should receive your new registration card in about a week or two.
Military members and out-of-state residents will renew using the mail-in method. This follows the same procedure as noted above. Else, call if you have specific questions about your registration and records.
West Virginia Registration Renewal Fees
How much does it cost to renew registration in West Virginia? Expect the following:
- 1-year renewal: $51.50
- 2-year renewal: $103
You may also finish other business like getting a duplicate registration or plate decal ($10). Or, pay $10.50 for a duplicate license plate. All forms of payments are accepted in-person while check or money order are the two options when renewing by mail.
Congratulations, You’re Done!
You’ve completed the WV vehicle registration renewal.
You did not need a vehicle inspection during the renewal, but it is a requirement every year. If you can, try timing it with the renewal to keep the process simple and quick.
Keep track of your expiration date by writing it on your calendar. Otherwise, note the next time a renewal notice comes your way. Forgoing renewal can land you in trouble with fines and penalties so don’t let this lapse – happy driving!