Wisconsin DUI Laws, Limits, and Penalties
Wisconsin DUI Laws makes it clear driving under the influence (DUI) or operating while intoxicated (OWI) is a severe offense. If you are caught, the Wisconsin Division of Motor Vehicles (DMV) will suspend your driving privileges. Also, you must pay fines and serve your suspension before you can drive again. To determine if you are driving above the legal limit, you must take the blood alcohol concentration (BAC) test. The legal limit varies between adults, minors, and commercial drivers in Wisconsin.
Wisconsin DUI Laws
The Wisconsin DUI Laws have standards that every driver must comply with when operating a motor vehicle on the road. For anyone driving under the influence of drugs or alcohol, legal or illegal drugs, the penalties will be severe.
To determine if a person is under the influence, the officer conducts the BAC test. The device measures the percentage of alcohol in the blood. If the results are above the legal limit, then the person is not going to continue driving.
Here are the percentages after taking the BAC test that will determine if a person is above the legal limit:
- 0.08% or higher (21 years and older)
- 0.02% or higher (younger than 21 years)
- 0.04% or higher (commercial drivers)
If you refuse to take the BAC test, you will face immediate suspension, more fines, and possible jail time.
Wisconsin DUI Laws & Penalties
Wisconsin DUI Laws have harsh penalties for DUIs or OWIs convictions. The penalties will start with a license suspension. A traffic citation for a DUI or OWI adds 12 points to your Wisconsin driving records. Also, other penalties as a result of injuries or death are surcharges, mandatory alcohol and drug courses, and the installation of an ignition interlock device (IID).
First-time offenders will face these fines after a DUI/OWI conviction:
- Fines between $150 to $300
- Surcharges of $435
- Suspended license for 6 to 9 months
- Assessment of alcohol or drug use
- IDD installation (this depends on the BAC level)
Getting a second conviction will increase the suspension time and fines. The Wisconsin DUI Laws enforce greater penalties and can revoke a driver’s license. More convictions will cancel a driver’s license and getting a reinstatement is much harder. Also, mandatory IID installation.
Ignition Interlock Device (IID)
The IID is a device that will measure your blood alcohol concentration. It is installed to the ignition or starter of the car. To start your car, you must blow into it, and if alcohol is detected, the vehicle will not start.
For you to get an IID, you are:
- An OWI repeat offender
- Refuse the BAC test
- A first-time offender with a BAC of 0.15% or higher
You must pay for the installation and maintenance fees. Every 60 days you must take your car to the technician to record the data. The information is given to the court.
Wisconsin DUI Laws & License Reinstatement
You can reinstate your driving privilege after a suspension. However, the process will not be as simple as applying for the first time. You can check here to determine if you are eligible for reinstatement. The Wisconsin DMV reinstate driver’s licenses, but first, you must meet these requirements:
- You have proof of SR22
- Apply for a new license
- Pay suspension/revocation reinstatement fee ($200)
- Install an IID
Once you meet all the requirements, the DMV can offer you a full license or a provisional license. Continue to follow the traffic laws, including the DUI Laws and you will not face another suspension.