Wyoming Car Insurance Requirements, Laws, and Quotes
All Wyoming drivers must carry auto insurance if they get behind-the-wheel unless they show fiscal responsibility. Insurance not only protects you when driving but others on the road. After all, you never know if an accident may happen!
Wyoming requires a 25/50/20 auto policy coverage minimum.
This article shares what those insurance minimums are that you must carry. And, the repercussions of not having it. And, provides WY insurance quotes if you’re shopping for coverage in Wyoming.
The Wyoming Car Insurance Requirements and Minimums
Wyoming requires the following required auto insurance coverage:
- Bodily Injury Liability: $25,000 per person / $50,000 per accident
- Property Damage Liability: $20,000 per accident
- Uninsured Motorist Bodily Injury: $25,000 per person / $50,000 per accident
Your final insurance needs will depend on your driving abilities, history, and needs. Some vehicles, like when leasing, may require collision and compressive coverage.
Penalties for Driving Without Insurance in Wyoming
The state of Wyoming has variable penalties if you’re found driving without insurance. This could include a hefty fine to jail time. A possible license and registration suspension may happen, too!
Typical penalties for driving in Wyoming without insurance include:
- Up to $1,500 in fines
- Up to 6 months of imprisonment
- Variable registration suspension periods
- Required SR22 insurance (up to 3 years)
- Higher insurance premiums
- Registration reinstatement costs
You may receive these penalties when being stopped or through the states electronic monitoring. Failing to provide proof of insurance will result in an offense. Subsequent offenses carry heavier fines, fees, and possible jail time for your actions.
Upon your first infraction, an officer will issue a citation you’ll respond to within 7 days. You will show proof of your insurance or financial responsibility within the 7 days.
Going longer than this period generally results in a suspension. You may dispute all this with a hearing with 20 days of receiving notice otherwise you’ll need to wait out the duration of your suspension and pay your reinstatement fees.
Compare Quotes for Wyoming Insurance Policies
Whether you just moved to Wyoming or you’re a resident, you need auto insurance if you’re getting behind-the-wheel and on state roads and highways. The insurance helps protect you from uninsured motorists while providing if you’re the one at fault.
Your intent may be finding cheap Wyoming auto insurance to cover the state’s minimums. You may decide to upgrade your insurance policy once you’re driving. Many WY car insurance companies offer good driver discounts lowering their premiums.
Check to ensure you’re given the best coverage else shop for new coverage by comparing insurers!