Tennessee Car Insurance Requirements, Laws, and Quotes

Reading Time: 2 minutes

All Tennessee drivers must carry auto insurance if they get behind-the-wheel.

This article shares what insurance minimums you must carry. The article also covers the repercussions of not having it. And, provides TN insurance quotes if you’re currently shopping for coverage in Tennessee.

The Tennessee Car Insurance Requirements and Minimums

Tennessee requires the following required auto insurance coverage:

  • Bodily Injury Liability Coverage: $25,000 per person / $50,000 per accident
  • Property Damage Liability Coverage: $15,000 per accident
  • Uninsured Motorist Bodily Injury Coverage: $25,000 per person / $50,000 per accident
  • Personal Injury Protection: $15,000 per accident

Your final insurance needs will depend on your driving abilities, history, and needs. Some vehicles, like when leasing, may require collision and compressive coverage.

What are the Penalties for Driving without Insurance in Tennessee?

Driving without insurance is a serious offense in the state of Tennessee.

The fines and penalties depend on your actions when behind-the-wheel. This includes minor fines for the first offense to serious repercussions like if you cause a major incident.

Tennessee introduced the need for insurance during titling and registration. Allowing the insurance to lapse after completing this registration process can cause a myriad of issues.

For example:

  • Driving without Insurance: You may face a $300 fine if found driving without insurance. You may also have your driving privileges suspended or revoked depending on your actions. A $65 restoration and $50 fee are typical. And, you’ll need to carry SR-22 insurance for 3 years.
  • Causing an Accident: Tennessee is strict about driving without insurance especially if a serious accident happens causing bodily injury or death. Fines up to $2,500 are typically issued, and imprisonment for 11 months and 29 days generally follows. The total penalties can increase depending on if the accident caused several related issues.

Fines and penalties can go as far as causing jail time and losing your home. This isn’t worth risking!

Compare Quotes for Tennessee Insurance Policies

Whether you just moved to Tennessee or you’re a resident, you need auto insurance if you’re getting behind-the-wheel and on state roads and highways. The insurance helps protect you from uninsured motorists while providing if you’re the one at fault.

Tennessee is among the top 10 states with uninsured motorists. You do not want to be on the receiving end of others causing the accident – but at least you will have things covered with insurance!

Your intent may be finding cheap Tennessee auto insurance to cover the state’s minimums. You may decide to upgrade your insurance policy once you’re driving. Many TN car insurance companies offer good driver discounts lowering their premiums – this also applies to good students!