Alabama Learner’s Permit: A First-Time Teen Driver Guide

Teen Driver in Florida
Reading Time: 3 minutes

Alabama Learner’s Permit: A First-Time Teen Driver Guide

The Alabama Department of Public Safety (DPS) has implemented the Graduated Driver License Program (GDL) to oversee a driver’s license applicant. New drivers must follow the guidelines set before receiving an Alabama learner’s permit. When applying for an Alabama learner’s permit, there is an age limit. Also, it includes a written and on the road test. To get an Alabama driver’s license, the applicant must complete three stages or transfer an out-of-state driver’s license.

Stage I Applying for an Alabama Learner’s Permit

When applying for an Alabama Learner’s Permit, you must be at least 15 years old. If you are older than 15 years, may be exempt from getting an Alabama Learner’s Permit and get the restricted license. Click here to get the test manual.

To begin the process, make an appointment online to prevent any delay at the DPS office. At your appointment, you must provide:

  • An original or a certified U.S. birth certificate (copies are not accepted)
  • Proof of:
  • Payment

To apply for a STAR ID permit, submit:

  • Proof of residency (2 documents)
  • Name change documents (if applicable)

Once the documents are accepted, you will take your written test.

Taking the Alabama Learner’s Permit Written Test

On the day of your appointment, submit all the necessary documents and be ready to take the written test. The Alabama learner’s permit written test will consist of questions taken from the Alabama Driver License Manual. The test will cover topics that include:

  • Alabama state traffic laws
  • Road signs and pavement markings
  • Rules of safe driving
  • Sharing the road and right-of-way rules

If you receive a passing grade, you can move onto the next step which will be driving.

Driving with an Alabama Learner’s Permit

The Alabama GDL requires a person with a learner’s permit to get as many hours of road practice before taking the road test administered by the DPS. So, before going to Stage II, you must:

  • Complete at least 50 hours of behind-the-wheel driving practice
  • Hold a learner’s permit for at least six months
  • Submit a Graduate Driver License Form signed a parent/guardian or certified driving instructor

Alabama Driver’s Ed

Some private and public high schools offer the Alabama Driver’s Ed. The course will include behind-the-wheel instruction and classroom training. Here is a further breakdown of the program:

  • Driver’s license requirements
  • Facts about young drivers
  • Driver’s responsibilities
  • Operating a vehicle
  • Traffic laws
  • Reacting to different driving conditions

Once you complete the classroom portion, you will start the behind-the-wheel training. The behind-the-wheel training will be at least 50 hours of driving practice. With the completion of the Alabama Driver’s Ed, you can sign up for the road test at the DPS.

Stage II Alabama Restricted Driver’s License

Before you visit the DPS, you should have your Alabama learner’s permit for at least six months, is 16 years old, and complete the Alabama Driver’s Ed Course or 50 hours of supervised driving. To schedule a road test at the DPS, make your appointment and submit the required documents. You must provide the DPS with:

  • Your valid Alabama learner’s permit
  • Social Security card
  • Proof of identity
  • A Graduated Driver License Form or state-approved driver’s education course
  • Pay fee

When you pass the driving test, you will receive your restricted driver’s license. Before you apply for the unrestricted driver’s license, you must hold the restricted driver’s license for at least six months or until you turn 17 years old.

Stage III Alabama Unrestricted Driver’s License

Once you are 17 years old and have your provisional license for at least six months, you can apply for an unrestricted driver’s license. You must submit your provisional license and pay the fee. If you don’t have any violations or suspensions, you will get your unrestricted driver’s license.