Colorado DUI Laws, Limits, and Penalties

Pennsylvania Suspended License Guide
Reading Time: 2 minutes

The Colorado Division of Motor Vehicles (DMV) issues driver’s licenses. On the same token, the DMV will suspend, revoke, or cancel a Colorado driver’s license. One offense that will lead to your driving privileges being taken away is driving under the influence of drugs or alcohol. The Colorado DUI Laws will issue severe penalties to any driver who is caught driving while the ability is impaired (DWAI) or driving under the influence (DUI).

Colorado Blood Alcohol Concentration (BAC) Test

The BAC test is one of the few tests to determine if a driver is operating a motor vehicle under the influence of drugs or alcohol. The test measures the alcohol concentration, and the result will use to cite the driver. The percentage for alcohol concentration will vary among adults, minors, and commercial drivers.

The legal limit for drivers after the BAC test for DUI is:

  • 0.08% for adults (21 years and older)
  • 0.02% for minors (under 21 years old)

For DWAI is:

  • 0.05% for both minors and adults

Refusing the BAC Test

Refusing to take the BAC or sobriety test will automatically get you a suspension. You will require by law to have an ignition interlock device in your vehicle. The device must remain in your car for a minimum of two years. A conviction will add more fines to the charges.

Colorado DUI Laws have zero tolerance for underage drinking. If a minor has a BAC level between 0.02% and 0.05%, his/her license will automatically be revoked. If alcohol is found in the vehicle, a minor is driving; again his/her license is revoked.

Colorado DUI Laws & Penalties

The Colorado DMV can and will suspend your license for a DUI or DWAI conviction.

The suspension length, fees, and points all coincide with the kind of infractions. Also, it will increase for repeat offenders. So, here are the points, fines, and suspension time for DUIs and DWAIs:

DWAI 1st offense:

  • 8 points
  • $200 – $500 fine
  • Up to one-year imprisonment
  • Up to 96 hours of community service

DUI 1st Offense:

  • Nine months suspension
  • $600 – $1,000 fine
  • Up to one-year imprisonment
  • Up to 96 hours of community service
  • alcohol/drug course program

DUI/DWAI 1st Offense for under 21 years old:

  • Three months and up to one year’s suspension
  • 4 points

Colorado DUI Laws & License Reinstatement

You may be able to get your license back, but first, you must complete all the requirements. Most often, you should have IID in your car, complete alcohol and drug courses, and pay the reinstatement fees. You must submit your reinstatement form, your $95 fee, and the certificate of completion. With this information, you may get a restricted license.


Your license can be revoked after a DUI or DWAI conviction and you may face serious penalties. You can take steps to reinstate your license, including completing an alcohol or drug course program and paying the necessary fees. It is important to understand Colorado’s DUI laws before driving again. By knowing the consequences of breaking these laws, you can ensure you stay safe on the road and comply with the law.