Hawaii License Renewal

The Hawaiian license renewal process takes place at various locations:

  • The Department of Customer Services in Honolulu
  • The Department of Finance in Hawaii
  • The Treasury Division of Finance in Kauai
  • The Department of Finance in Maui

You can renew your valid Hawaii license up to 6 months before its expiration and up to 1 year after its expiration. Renewing your license makes it valid for a set time based on your age. Failing to renew your license can result in fines and penalties if caught driving on state roads and highways.

You can renew your Hawaii license:

  • In-Person
  • By Mail

The following shares the step-by-step process for renewing a Hawaiian driver’s license.

How to Renew Your HI Driver’s License

A valid HI driver’s license is required if you drive on state roads and highways. Hawaii auto insurance is a requirement, too, if you plan to operate your own vehicle. The renewal process doesn’t take long if you have documents ready and follow the steps below.

You will do the following to renew in-person:

  1. Go to an HI licensing location
  2. Present your HI driver’s license
  3. Complete a State of Hawaii Driver’s License Application (CSD-DL)
  4. Provide proof of ID, SSN, and legal presence
    1. Birth certificate
    2. S. Passport
    3. Social Security card
    4. W-2 or 1099 form
  5. Provide proof of address (2 documents)
  6. Pass your vision exam
  7. Have your photo and fingerprint taken
  8. Pay your renewal fees
    1. Note: Hawaii and Kauai county offices do not accept credit/debit cards

Congratulations! You’ve successfully renewed your Hawaii driver’s license at one of the many licensing locations throughout the state.

Mail-In Renewals

Prefer to renew your Hawaii license by mail?

You will write a renewal request to your county DMV with the following information:

  • Full name
  • Date of birth
  • License #
  • Contact information
  • Mailing address
  • Signature

Check your local DMV locations (or call) to find out where you’ll send the request. This is typically the county location’s departments/division.

You’ll receive a renewal package requiring the following items:

  • Complete all included forms
  • Include proof of ID & legal presence
  • Include proof of address
  • Payment for the renewal

You’ll receive your new license in the mail not long after it’s processed.

Military members can renew by mail, too, or have their spouse renew for them. Members can get a 90-day extension by request or follow through the mail-in renewal to process their license.

Hawaii License Renewal Fees

Each county has different fees (see below to find yours):

Hawaii County

  • 25 to 71: $40 (8 years)
  • 18 to 24: $20 (4 years)
  • 72+: $10 (2 years)
  • Any age: $5 (1 year and under)

Honolulu County

  • 25 to 71: $40 (8 years)
  • 18 to 24: $20 (4 years)
  • 72+: $10 (2 years)

Maui County

  • 25 to 71: $40 (8 years)
  • 18 to 24: $20 (4 years)
  • 72+: $10 (2 years)

Kauai County

  • 2 years: $8
  • 4 years: $4
  • 8 years: $32

Become a Better Hawaii Driver

Looking for more information and guides to become a better Hawaii driver? Check out our HI DMV topics, browse our DMV directory, or get active in the community!