Montana Auto Insurance Minimums and Insurance Laws
All Montana drivers must carry auto insurance if they get behind-the-wheel unless they show fiscal responsibility. Insurance not only protects you when driving but others on the road. After all, you never know if an accident may happen!
This article shares what those insurance minimums are that you must carry. And, the repercussions of not having it. And, provides MT insurance quotes if you’re shopping for coverage in Montana.
The Montana Car Insurance Requirements and Minimums
Montana requires the following required auto insurance coverage:
- Bodily Injury Liability: $25,000 per person / $50,000 per accident
- Property Damage: $10,000 per accident
- Uninsured/Underinsured Motorist: $25,000 per person / $50,000 per accident
Your final insurance needs will depend on your driving abilities, history, and needs. Some vehicles, like when leasing, may require collision and compressive coverage.
Penalties for Driving Without Insurance in Montana
The state of Montana has variable penalties if you’re found driving without insurance. This could include a hefty fine to jail time. A possible license and registration suspension may happen, too!
Typical penalties for driving in Montana without insurance include:
- Fines between $250 to $500 for first offenses
- Fines starting at $350 and higher for repeat offenses
- Up to 10 days in jail for first or repeat offenses
- License revocation up to 90 days for repeated offenses
- Get 5 points on your record for repeated offenses
- Possible imprisonment for third offenses (up to 6 months + fine)
- The need to carry SR-22 insurance
- Costs associated with reinstatements
You may receive these penalties when being stopped or through the state’s MTIVS electronic monitoring. Failing to provide proof of insurance will result in an offense. Subsequent offenses carry heavier fines, fees, and possible jail time for your actions.
Upon your first infraction, you will pay a fee but usually won’t result in license revocation depending on your actions. However, repeated offenses can and will lead to license and registration suspension. You will also pay fines, show proof of insurance, and redo your registration before driving again.
Forgoing the surrender of your license and plates can result in jail time.
Montana does offer drivers lenience when found driving without insurance. An example would include simply not having proof of insurance on hand when requested. In this case, the driver can show their proof to the court to get reinstatement fees waived. Likewise, it may shorten the suspension time if you get insurance not long after the incident.
All-in-all, don’t attempt driving in the state without insurance as it’s not worth the penalties!
Compare Quotes for Montana Insurance Policies
Whether you just moved to Montana or you’re a resident, you need auto insurance if you’re getting behind-the-wheel and on state roads and highways. The insurance helps protect you from uninsured motorists while providing if you’re the one at fault.
Your intent may be finding cheap Montana auto insurance to cover the state’s minimums. You may decide to upgrade your insurance policy once you’re driving. Many MT car insurance companies offer good driver discounts lowering their premiums.
Check to ensure you’re given the best coverage else shop for new coverage by comparing insurers!