New Hampshire Car Insurance Laws and Policy Quotes
All New Hampshire drivers must carry auto insurance if they get behind-the-wheel. This article shares what insurance minimums you must carry.
The article also covers the repercussions of not having it. And, provides NH insurance quotes if you’re shopping for coverage in New Hampshire.
The NH Car Insurance Minimums
New Hampshire requires the following required auto insurance coverage:
- Bodily Injury Liability: $25,000 per person / $50,000 per accident
- Property Damage Liability: $25,000 per accident
- Uninsured/Underinsured Motorist Coverage: $25,000 per person / $50,000 per accident
- Medical Payments Coverage: $1,000 per person
Your final insurance needs will depend on your driving abilities, history, and needs. Some vehicles, like when leasing, may require collision and compressive coverage.
Penalties for Driving Without Insurance
Surprisingly, New Hampshire has relaxed penalties for driving without insurance. Unlike other states, NH doesn’t add fines but do come down hard if you cause an accident and don’t have coverage.
Typical penalties for driving in New Hampshire without insurance include:
- Driving privilege suspension until judgment
- Required SR22 insurance
- Higher insurance premiums
- Registration reinstatement costs
You may receive these penalties when being stopped or through the states electronic monitoring. Failing to provide proof of insurance will result in an offense. Subsequent offenses carry heavier fines, fees, and possible jail time for your actions.
Most punishments are dealt if you cause an accident. This includes causing any damages over $1,000, not having insurance, or bodily injury. Generally, your license will be suspended on-the-spot.
You will wait for the duration of your license suspension until your penalties are satisfied.
You may appeal to the state by requesting a hearing within 10 days of the accident report. You’ll request your Driver Report and Crash Report before appearing before the administration.
You can extra fees when filing to reinstate your NH license after its suspension or revocation.
Compare Quotes for New Hampshire Insurance Policies
Whether you just moved to New Hampshire or you’re a resident, you need auto insurance if you’re getting behind-the-wheel and on state roads and highways. The insurance helps protect you from uninsured motorists while providing if you’re the one at fault.
Your intent may be finding cheap New Hampshire auto insurance to cover the state’s minimums. You may decide to upgrade your insurance policy once you’re driving. Many NH car insurance companies offer good driver discounts lowering their premiums – this also applies to good students!