New Hampshire Drivers License
A New Hampshire driver’s license is required for anyone wanting to legally drive on state roads and highways. The license application process doesn’t take long if you have the appropriate paperwork and time needed when visiting your local NH DMV.
In this article, you’ll learn what’s required to get your NH license as an adult (21+).
Getting Your New Hampshire Driver’s License: How-to
Eligibility for an (adult/unrestricted) class D New Hampshire drivers license becomes available either by completing the states Graduated Licensing Program or applying when you’re 21 and older.
Those under 21, but older than 18, can follow this same process but will receive a Youth Operator’s license until their 21st birthday. Out-of-state drivers should surrender their license and go through the application process within 60 days of settling into New Hampshire.
Here’s what you need to know.
What You’ll Do at the DMV
- Provide proof of (U.S.) identification
- Birth certificate, passport, visa
- Provide proof of Social Security Number
- Card, W-2, pay stub
- Provide proof of NH residency
- Utility bill, bank statement, voter ID
- Submit the Application for Driver’s License or Non-Driver ID Card (DSMV450)
- Pass the tests/exams
- Vision exam
- Written test
- Pay the $50 application fee
You will then make an appointment for the driving test after submitting this information and passing your required tests. You will provide the vehicle when taking the road skills test.
- If you pass: You’ll receive a temporary, 60-day license until your class D license arrives by mail
- If you fail: You can retake the test (every 10 days)
Congratulations! You’re now a licensed driver in the state of New Hampshire.
About the Vision Exam and Written Test
The vision exam is your standard procedure checking your… vision. You’ll wear corrective lenses or contacts when taking the exam if needed. Pass and you’ll continue into the written exam.
The written test is a series of questions testing your knowledge of road signs and rules. Consider taking an online practice test before going to increase your chance of passing. Once completed, with a passing score, you can do your road test and get your license.
Youth Operator Licenses
Those under 21 years old will go through the same steps when applying for their license. Except, they’ll receive a Youth Operator’s License which simply means you’re a young driver. You won’t have restrictions as you would being under 18 but will renew your license when you turn 21.
Congratulations! You’re a Licensed NH Driver
Submitting these documents, taking these steps, and passing the tests will grant you an unrestricted driver’s license in New Hampshire.
Safe driving is a necessity but so is your everyday conduct. Breaking road rules and local/sate laws can result in a suspended license. Or, a revoked license if you’re a habitual offender.
The open roads of New Hampshire are now yours to explore. Enjoy yourself and happy travels!