Oklahoma Car Insurance Requirements, Laws, and Quotes

Reading Time: 2 minutes

All Oklahoma drivers must carry auto insurance if they get behind-the-wheel.

This article shares what insurance minimums you must carry. The article also covers the repercussions of not having it. And, provides OK insurance quotes if you’re shopping for coverage in Oklahoma.

The Oklahoma Car Insurance Requirements and Minimums

Oklahoma requires the following required auto insurance coverage:

  • Bodily Injury Liability Coverage: $25,000 per person / $50,000 per accident
  • Property Damage Liability Coverage: $20,000 per accident
  • Uninsured Motorist Coverage Bodily Injury: $25,000 per person / $50,000 per accident

Your final insurance needs will depend on your driving abilities, history, and needs. Some vehicles, like when leasing, may require collision and compressive coverage.

What are the Penalties for Driving without Insurance in Oklahoma?

Driving without insurance is a serious offense in the state of Oklahoma.

The fines and penalties depend on your actions when behind-the-wheel. You can expect anything from fees and loss of driving privileges to potential jail time.

Typical penalties for driving in Oklahoma without insurance include:

  • $250 fine (or more)
  • Possible 30-days jail time
  • The car may be impounded
  • License suspension or revocation
  • $275 reinstatement fee
  • Additional court costs

Second and third offenses usually carry the same fines and penalties as the first. Yet, repeat violations are somewhat at the liberty of the officer. Your vehicle may be impounded, towed, or your license plates may be taken. You may be forced to use temporary tags and liability insurance for a while!

Oklahoma is strict about driving without insurance especially if a serious accident happens causing bodily injury or death. Fines can reach thousands of dollars and years of jail time if your actions were deemed negligent. The driver may also sue for personal or property damage!

Compare Quotes for Oklahoma Insurance Policies

Whether you just moved to Oklahoma or you’re a resident, you need auto insurance if you’re getting behind-the-wheel and on state roads and highways. The insurance helps protect you from uninsured motorists while providing if you’re the one at fault.

Your intent may be finding cheap Oklahoma auto insurance to cover the state’s minimums. You may decide to upgrade your insurance policy once you’re driving. Many OK car insurance companies offer good driver discounts lowering their premiums – this also applies to good students!