Oklahoma Registration Renewal: Vehicle Registration Renewal: Step-by-Step
The Oklahoma Tax Commission (OTC) oversees your vehicle’s registration renewal. You’ll need to complete a renewal to continue driving. Your expiration depends on when you had registered and is noted on the registration documents.
You should receive a renewal notice from the OK DMV before your vehicle’s expiration. Or, you may have received a notice by email – check your inbox as the date nears. The notice covers items like your vehicle information, fees, and requirements you’ll provide when renewing in-person, online, or by mail.
You can renew your vehicle’s registration:
- By Mail
Failing to renew your car’s registration can result in penalties. Given your license isn’t suspended or you have other restrictions from completing it – use the sections below to complete the renewal steps.
Oklahoma Registration Renewal: Step-by-Step
You have up to 1 month after your registration expiration before you incur late fees. The late fee is $1 per day until a $100 maximum. Waiting beyond 1 year incur late and additional fees.
Below, you’ll learn the various ways you can process the car registration renewal:
Rather handle business face-to-face? A trip to your local DMV shouldn’t take long.
Here is what you’ll do when renewing in-person:
- Present your OK driver’s license or ID
- Submit your vehicle registration or renewal notice
- Provide proof of auto insurance
- Pay your renewal fees
That’s it! Your vehicle’s registration has been renewed.
An online renewal is the fastest way to renew your Oklahoma car registration. You will provide information found on the renewal notice when renewing online.
Online renewal is available if:
- Expiration is less than 2 months away
- Renewing a standard tag, vehicle, commercial or farm truck
Given you pass the requirements and have documents ready:
- Visit the OTC CARS website
- Enter your information:
- Last 4-digits of the VIN
- License plate or #
- Insurance policy info
- Driver’s license #
- Follow the on-screen prompts
- Pay the renewal fees
- Print your receipt
You should receive your registration by mail in a week.
Renewing by Mail
Mail-in renewal is slower but provides a good alternative if you can’t get online. Or, if you rather avoid going to a DMV location.
The process is the same as renewing in-person.
Send the documents and a check to:
OK Tax Commission
P.O. Box 26940
Oklahoma City, OK 73126
You should receive your documents in a week or two.
Registration Renewal and Other Fees
Your typical, non-commercial vehicle renewal fees depend on how long it’s been registered in the state of Oklahoma – this includes:
- Year 1 – 4: $96
- Year 5 – 8: $86
- Year 9 – 12: $66
- Year 13 – 16: $46
- Year 17 and longer: $26
You may pay a $1.50 – $3 sticker, plate, and mailing fee. Or, a $1.50 insurance processing fee. Military members enjoy a discounted $26 fee during their registration.
Congratulations, You’re Done!
You’ve completed the OK vehicle registration renewal.
Keep track of your expiration date by writing it on your calendar. Otherwise, keep an eye out for the next time a renewal notice comes your way. Forgoing renewal can land you in trouble with fines and penalties so don’t let this lapse. And, as always, continue practicing safe driving!