Delaware Drivers License: The New Driver’s Guide
Today you will learn what’s required to get a Delaware driver’s license.
To begin, a Delaware license is required for anyone wanting to legally drive on state roads and highways. The license application process doesn’t take long if you have the appropriate paperwork and time needed when visiting your local DE DMV.
The process in this article assumed you’re an adult applying for a new license or have a provisional license through the state’s GDL program. If this doesn’t describe you, see our learner’s permit and/or provisional licensing guides to begin the steps through the graduated licensing program.
Ready? Let’s begin.
Getting a Driver License in Delaware: Step-by-Step
This guide assumes one of the following:
- You’re an adult and want to apply for a new license
- You’ve recently moved to the state and want a license
- Your old license expired you allowed it to lapse renewal/reinstatement
- You’re holding a learner or provisional license (going through the GDL)
If one of these describes you, you can apply for a new driver’s license by visiting a Delaware Division of Motor Vehicles (DMV). There, you’ll submit the appropriate paperwork, pass your required tests, and pay the appropriate fees to get your Class D DE license.
Other requirements when applying include:
- Being 18 years old or older
- Held a permit for a minimum of 10 days
- Be a DE and U.S. resident
- Safe to drive
You will get an instructional permit before applying for a new license as an adult:
- Submit the permit application
- Provide proof of ID and residency
- Pay the application fee
You will hold this permit for at least 10 days before upgrading to a full license. During that time, you will need to pass a written test covering the road rules like identifying traffic signals and proper driving.
Consider taking an online practice test to better understand the rules if you’re unfamiliar with these topics. Else, work with a licensed driver to get a better understanding of these items.
Next, you’ll return to the DMV and complete the following:
- Pass the road test
- Return to the DMV
- Submit your permit and ID documents
- Pay for your driver’s license
- Fee: $40
The road test examines your ability to control the vehicle and adhere to signs and commands. This may include your ability to change lanes, maneuver the vehicle, park, and more. You will provide your vehicle when conducting this test. Make sure you have DE auto insurance when doing it.
Congratulations, You’re a Licensed Driver in Delaware
Submitting these documents, taking these steps, and passing the tests will grant you a driver’s license in Delaware. Your license is good for 8 years given you’re a safe driver. Non-U.S. citizens’ license is valid for the duration of their stay in the States.
Safe driving is a necessity but so is your everyday conduct. Breaking road rules and local/state laws can result in a suspended license. Or, a revoked license if you’re a habitual offender.
Keep note of your license expiration date as you’ll want to renew a DE license as it draws close. Failing to renew on time can result in the loss of driving privileges.
The open roads of Delaware are now yours to explore. Enjoy yourself and happy travels!