Iowa Car Insurance Requirements, Laws, and Quotes

Drivers License
Reading Time: 2 minutes

All Iowa drivers must carry auto insurance if they get behind the wheel.

This article shares what insurance minimums you must carry. The article also covers the repercussions of not having it. And provides IA insurance quotes if you’re shopping for coverage in Iowa.

The Iowa Car Insurance Requirements and Minimums

Iowa requires the following required auto insurance coverage:

  • Bodily Injury Liability Coverage: $20,000 per person / $40,000 per accident
  • Property Damage Liability Coverage: $15,000 per accident
  • Uninsured Motorist Coverage Bodily Injury: $20,000 per person / $40,000 per accident
  • Underinsured Motorist Bodily Injury: $20,000 per person / $40,000 per accident

Your final insurance needs will depend on your driving abilities, history, and needs. Some vehicles, like when leasing, may require collision and compressive coverage.

What are the Penalties for Driving without Insurance in Iowa?

Driving without insurance is a serious offense in the state of Iowa.

The fines and penalties depend on your actions when behind the wheel. You can expect anything from fees and loss of driving privileges to potential jail time.

Typical penalties for driving in Iowa without insurance include:

  • $250 fine or community service in place of the fine
  • License/registration suspension for 12 months (exceeding $1,500 in damages)
  • All other registrations under the person’s name suspended
  • Impounded vehicle and its associated fines/fees
  • Required SR22 insurance
  • $200 civil penalty, $15 admin fee, and $20 license renewal fee
  • May have to retake vision, knowledge, and driving test (plus their fees)

You are served a citation if found driving without insurance. If you pay the fine and show proof of insurance or financial responsibility or SR22 agreement, you can dismiss the citation. Failing to respond in this timeframe results in a license/registration suspension and associated fees.

The state does give you 48 hours to comply with the citation. You may also choose to do community service in place of the fine but must complete this before you can reinstate your IA license.

Iowa is strict about driving without insurance, especially if a serious accident happens, causing bodily injury or death. Fines could reach thousands of dollars and years of jail time if your actions were deemed negligent. The driver may also sue for personal or property damage!

Compare Quotes for Iowa Insurance Policies

Whether you just moved to Iowa or you’re a resident, you need auto insurance if you’re getting behind the wheel and on state roads and highways. The insurance helps protect you from uninsured motorists while providing if you’re the one at fault.

Your intent may be finding cheap Iowa auto insurance to cover the state’s minimums. You may decide to upgrade your insurance policy once you’re driving. Many IA car insurance companies offer good driver discounts lowering their premiums – this also applies to good students!