How to Request Rhode Island Driving Records?
Your driving records, or DMV records, are the state’s collection of your driving history. Your driving history can include anything from a vehicle’s registration, convictions, and license status to point violations like unpaid tickets and more.
Others, like employers, law enforcement, insurance companies, and others, may request your records.
Getting your RI driver’s records can be done online, by mail, and in person. This short article shares how you can request driving records from the Rhode Island Division of Motor Vehicles (DMV).
Getting Your Rhode Island Driving Record: Step-by-Step
You’ll find two record types when you request records:
- Certified: Includes your personal information
- This record is one most needed as it provides official documentation
- Non-Certified: Does not include your personal information besides the name
- Only shows driving history, tickets, and license
You can request documents through the Rhode Island DMV to get official, certified copies. Or, use third-party providers to get unofficial RI driver documents. These third-party providers can save time and hassle when getting your driver information.
Below, you’ll learn how to request official documents through the RI DMV.
Registering Your Motor Vehicle Record in Person
- Visit a local RI DMV office (find one here)
- Ask for your driving record
- Provide your personal information and form
- Pay the $17.50 fee
Requesting Your Motor Vehicle Record Online
NOTE: Certified records are not available online.
- Visit Rhode Island’s record request page
- Input your information
- Follow the on-screen prompts
- Pay the $19.50 + $1.50 record fee
- Download or print the record
Requesting Your Motor Vehicle Record by Mail
- Create a written request, including the following:
- License #
- Date of birth
- Include a check or money order
- $17.50 addressed to “Division of Motor Vehicles.”
- Send your request
The documents will go to the following:
Division of Motor Vehicles
600 New London Ave.
Cranston, RI 02920
Rhode Island Record Request Fees
Fees for your RI records include the following:
- Online: $19.50
- In-Person: $17.50
- Mail-in: $17.50
You may also pay a processing or 2.35% service fee if your transaction goes above $64.
You can use most payment methods in person. Online payments are made via credit card. And mail-in requests require a check or money order.
Found Something Wrong on Your Rhode Island Driving Records?
If you notice errors, contact your local DMV and inquire about the erogenous information. This may include the need to update your information on file. The driving record is a handy set of documents for many DMV and/or court purposes – so keep them nearby in case you need them fast!