Vermont Drivers License: A New Driver’s Guide
Are you about to get your driver’s license in Vermont? Many first-time drivers don’t know what steps to take so the process can be a bit overwhelming. Luckily, there’s no need to worry – with our helpful guide for new drivers; we’ll ensure you’re ready to hit the open road in no time!
From learning the proper driving etiquette and brushing up on traffic laws and regulations to figuring out what documentation is required for registration and how much insurance you need – everything you need is right here. So read on; let’s begin conquering that next milestone: getting your Vermont Driver’s License!
Today you will learn what’s required to get a Vermont driver’s license.
To begin, a Vermont license is required for anyone wanting to drive legally on state roads and highways. The license application process doesn’t take long if you have the appropriate paperwork and time needed when visiting your local VT DMV.
The process in this article assumes you’re an adult applying for a new license or have a provisional license as a teen through the state’s GDL program. If this doesn’t describe you, see our learner’s permit and provisional licensing guides to begin the steps through the graduated licensing program.
Ready? Let’s begin.
Getting Your License in Vermont: Step-by-Step
This guide assumes one of the following:
- You’re an adult and want to apply for a new license
- You’re transferring an out-of-state license (within 60 days)
- Your old license expired. You allowed it to lapse renewal/reinstatement
- You’re holding a learner or provisional license (going through the GDL)
If one describes you, you can apply for a new driver’s license by visiting the Vermont Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV). You’ll submit the appropriate paperwork, pass your required tests, and pay the appropriate fees to get your VT license there.
You may choose to get an enhanced driver’s license (EDL) during the application process. This is part of the REAL ID Act, giving you greater flexibility with your identification. Be ready to bring additional forms of personal identification with you during the application.
When you’re ready, you will complete these steps to get a Vermont license:
- Be eligible:
- 18 years old or older
- Have held a provisional license without convictions
- Submit the licensing form you choose:
- Provide proofs:
- VT residency
- Social Security number
- Lawful presence
- Name change (if applicable)
- Pass your tests:
- Get your photo taken
- Pay the fees:
- License: $32 (2 years) or $51 (4 years)
- Enhanced: Licensing fee + $30
- Road or eye exam: $19
- Make an appointment for your road test
The written/knowledge test examines your understanding of road rules and signs. You can practice using the state’s license manual. Or, take an online practice test to improve your passing chances.
The road test examines your ability to control the vehicle and adhere to signs and commands. This may include your ability to change lanes, maneuver the vehicle, park, and more.
Check with the local DMV, as you may need to request an appointment for your road test. Your vehicle is required to have VT auto insurance when taking this test.
Congratulations, You’re a Licensed Driver in Vermont
Submitting these documents, taking these steps, and passing the tests will grant you a driver’s license in Vermont. Keep note of your license expiration date as you’ll want to renew a VT license as it draws close. Failing to renew on time can result in the loss of driving privileges.
The open roads of Vermont are now yours to explore. Enjoy yourself, and happy travels!