How to Renew Your Vehicle Registration in New Jersey

Reading Time: 2 minutes

Need to know about doing a New Jersey registration renewal? You’ve come to the right place!

The New Jersey Motor Vehicle commission recommends renewing your registration at your earliest convenience. Avoiding registration renewal and driving may cause a suspended license, extra late fees, and/or penalties.

You’ll receive a notification 3-months before your vehicle’s registration expires. This notice comes through the mail to your address on file. The notice explains the expiration date, fees, applicable emissions info, and vehicle information you’ll use during the renewal.

Vehicle registration renewal is available via:

  • Online
  • In-Person
  • By mail

How is it done? Let’s find out!

What’s Needed to Renew in New Jersey

Registration renewal and its associated fees depend on your vehicle’s type, weight, and year. Fees typically range from $34.50 to $84. Seniors (65 and older, with a disability) pay $7 less.

Collect the following:

  1. Identification
    1. Driver’s license
    2. NJ 6-point ID
  2. Vehicle essentials
    1. Renewal notice
      1. Or: license plate number
      2. Or: Registration certificate
    2. Vehicle insurance
    3. Safety inspection (if applicable)
  3. Valid payment method

Renewal fees are paid at the time of renewal and vary by county and vehicle type. You can use all forms of payment methods from checks to credit cards. Renewing may sometimes take a while, visit your local NJMVC office if you cannot wait or are too close to the registration expiration.

New Jersey Registration Renewal: 3 Ways

Your final registration price may also include the vehicle’s value and type. Use the NJMVC’s fee chart to get a better understanding of what fees are applicable to your vehicle registration renewal.

Renewing Online

Renewing online is the easiest option – you’ll:

  1. Visit the NJ DMV site
  2. Fill in your personal information
    1. Social Security Number
    2. Insurance Identification Card
  3. Enter your vehicle information
    1. PIN (located on the lower right corner of the renewal notice)
  4. Confirm the details and pay the renewal fee

It shouldn’t take long to receive your renewal tags by mail after completing the online process.

Renewing In-Person

Head down to your local NJDMV (click here to find one), then:

  1. Show your ID
    1. Driver’s license
    2. 6-point ID
    3. Social Security Number
  2. Bring your vehicle documents
    1. Renewal notice
    2. License plate number
  3. Provide your auto insurance
  4. Pay the renewal fees

This shouldn’t take long if you schedule in advance. You’ll be back on the road in no time!

Renewing By Mail

Renewal by mail is available but typically takes longer to process (about a week). You will collect your renewal notice, vehicle’s information, insurance, and cut a check or money order. Address the payment to the NJMVC and send all forms to this address:

NJ Motor Vehicle Commission

Revenue Processing Center

P.O. Box 009

Trenton, NJ 08646

Call the NJDMV if it’s taking longer than expected to process.

Lost, Damaged, or Stolen Title and Tags

Did something happen to your title and/or tag? Or, need it when selling your car or truck? See our Title Replacement Guide for details.