New York Car Insurance Requirements, Laws, and Quotes
Are you a driver in New York who is looking to find the best car insurance options and learn more about the state’s laws? You’re not alone! It can be difficult to determine all of your legal obligations as well as research choices for rates. We are here to help make understanding these requirements easier with this comprehensive guide on everything related to buying auto insurance in New York so that you can save money and stay safe while behind the wheel.
All New York drivers must carry auto insurance if they get behind the wheel.
This article shares what insurance minimums you must carry. The article also covers the repercussions of not having it. And, provides NY insurance quotes if you’re currently shopping for coverage in New York.
The New York Car Insurance Requirements and Minimums
New York requires the following minimum auto insurance coverage:
- Bodily Injury Liability Coverage: $25,000 per person / $50,000 per accident
- Property Damage Liability Coverage: $10,000 per accident
- Uninsured Motorist Bodily Injury Coverage: $25,000 per person / $50,000 per accident
- Personal Injury Protection: $50,000
Your final insurance needs will depend on your driving abilities, history, and needs. Some vehicles, like when leasing, may require collision and compressive coverage.
Note: You may also offer a certificate of deposit of $40,000 to the New York State Treasurer. You may choose optional insurance coverage, too.
What are the Penalties for Driving without Insurance in New York?
Driving without insurance is a serious offense in the state of New York.
The fines and penalties depend on your actions when behind the wheel. This includes minor fines for first offenses to serious repercussions like if you cause a major incident.
- Driving without Insurance: You may face a $150 to $1500 fine, up to 15 days in jail, a license suspension, or revocation. A $750 payment may be required when reinstating a license. Driving without insurance beyond 91 days forfeits this payment and becomes a suspension/revocation.
- Accidents (Not at Fault): If you cause an accident and don’t have insurance you can expect your license to get suspended or revoked regardless of who caused it. You will likely lose your vehicle registration, too. Your vehicle may be impounded, too, causing more fees.
- Accidents (At Fault): Those causing an accident may result in the same repercussions noted in the ‘not at fault bullet point plus costs the person’s medical bills and vehicle costs. You may also be at fault for property damage (private and public).
Fines and penalties can go as far as causing jail time and losing your home. This isn’t worth risking!
Compare Quotes for New York Insurance Policies
Whether you just moved to New York or you’re a resident, you need auto insurance if you’re getting behind the wheel and on state roads and highways. The insurance helps protect you from uninsured motorists while providing if you’re the one at fault.
Your intent may be finding cheap New York auto insurance to cover the state’s minimums. You may decide to upgrade your insurance policy once you’re driving. Many NY car insurance companies offer good driver discounts lowering their premiums – this also applies to good students!