Virginia License Renewal Guide: Step-by-Step
The Virginia Department of Motor Vehicles sends a notice when your license is close to expiration. You may check the status of your license on the VA DMV website, too. You must always have your license valid if you plan to drive in the state of Virginia.
Renewing your license makes it valid for another 8 years. Licenses for those under 20 years old, having got their permit or the first-time license between 16 and 17 will renew on their 20th birthday. License renewal is available online, by mail, and in-person.
You must renew your VA driver’s license in-person every other time.
This article will help you understand what’s needed to renew a VA driver’s license. Follow along and get back on the roads!
Your VA Driver’s License Status and Renewal Requirements
Your license renewal varies by its status:
- Lost, Damaged, or Stolen
Virginia drivers can renew their driver’s license up to 6-months ahead of time if it’s valid. Those with suspended licenses will need to wait through the suspension period and/or pay fines or serve time. A license lost, damaged, or stolen requires a driver to file a Form DL 1P and show proof of ID/residency, then pay fees, to get a newly issued license (later used in the renewal).
How to Renew Your VA License
Renewing your driver’s license in Virginia is a quick and easy process if you have the time and documents ready to file. You will receive a notification of your license’s validity detailing your options with renewing it.
Go to your nearest VA DMV (click to find one), and:
- Provide your driver’s license and notice
- Get your photo taken
- Pay the $32 renewal fee
Driver’s under 21 years old take a driving test if they have traffic violations. You will pay an extra $5 renewal fee if you choose to renew in-person when marked available to renew online unless you are processing other business at the DMV.
Can you renew VA license online? Yes!
To renew online, you must have these requirements:
- Valid license
- DMV #
Your vision should be the same as before. If not, you’ll need to apply in-person to do the vision test.
You will do the following:
- Visit the VA myDMV site
- Provide your information
- Full name
- License info
- Pay the $32 renewal fee
The online process is, by far, the easiest way to renew your VA license. The step-by-step process shouldn’t take long. You’ll receive your new license in the mail shortly after.
Mail-in renewals are available if it’s marked on the renewal notice. If this option is available, you will send the application and $32 renewal fee. You’ll receive your license in about 2-weeks.
Send renewal information to:
Virginia Department of Motor Vehicles
P.O. Box 26506
Richmond, VA 23260
A Note about Suspended and/or Expired Licenses
Wondering about penalties for driving with an expired license in Virginia? If you’re asking this, then it’s likely you need to immediately stop driving and find a solution. Use our Suspended VA License Guide to learn what options you have (including the steps/fees you’ll do) to reinstate your license.