Washington Car Insurance Requirements, Laws, and Quotes
In Washington, the Department of Licensing requires every car owner to have car insurance. Insurance will provide coverage to drivers when they are involved in an accident that results with injuries or property damage. So, Washington car insurance is a necessity.
Washington Car Insurance Policies
There are different types of car insurance available to drivers. However, it is a requirement to have the minimum car insurance available. In Washington, the minimum is liability insurance.
With liability insurance, if you were involved in an accident, you will have coverage for injuries or property damages. Your liability car insurance will have:
- $25,000 for injuries or death per person
- $50,000 total for injuries or death per accident
- $10,000 for property damage
Additional Car Insurance
Liability insurance will cover damages caused by you but not you or your car. For this reason and others, there is other insurance that will cover you and your property. Washington car insurance companies will offer other optional coverage. The optional coverages are:
Collision insurance would help to cover damages caused to your car as a result of an accident regardless if it was your fault.
Comprehensive insurance will cover damages from non-collision related accidents. You can get damage because of vandalism, theft, or storms.
This insurance will cover damages or injuries to you if the other driver is uninsured or does not have enough insurance to cover the cost of your injuries or repairs.
Personal Injury Protection
Personal injury insurance (PIP) is optional but good to have. It will help to pay the additional cost that may result from the accident. PIP will help pay:
- Medical expenses
- Loss of income
- Funeral expenses
Washington Car Insurance Proof
You must always carry your Washington car insurance proof. If you pulled over by an office and cannot provide proof of insurance, you will get a citation, and your license can be suspended. Proof of insurance is a card given to you by your provider. The card will include:
- The insurance provider name
- Your policy numbers
- The effective date of the policy
- The expiration date of the policy
- Your car make, model, and year
Your car insurance provider issues a new card at the end of every policy. Make sure you store it in a safe place and have it available if asked for it.
Washington Car Insurance Violations and Penalties
If you have insurance but cannot provide it at the time you were stopped, you will receive a citation. You can provide your insurance at your court hearing to avoid paying the fine, but you must pay the court fee.
If you are caught driving without car insurance, your fine can be $550 or more. Also, your Washington driver’s license will be suspended for 30 days. Second-time offenders will get a more severe penalty and a longer license suspension.
Factors that may Determine Your Insurance Rate
Insurance companies are resolute to many factors to determine your policy rate. It is best for you to shop around to best the rates to meet your financial situation.
Most Washington car insurance providers will factor the following to determine your rates:
- Driving record
- Credit history
- Marital status
- Your car’s
- History of insurance claims
- The amount you will pay towards a claim
- The higher your deductible, the lower the premium