Nevada DMV Point System: What is It? How does it Work?
Like many states, the Nevada Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV) uses a point system to monitor how many traffic violations you rack up. Each offense has some points that go on your Nevada driving records. The more violations you commit, the tally of points goes up.
When you receive a certain number of points in a short time, you are likely to get a license suspension. A significant offense that will also result in a suspension is a DUI or DWI.
Nevada Point System
The Nevada point system makes it easy for the DMV to determine who are repeat offenders and when to enforce the traffic laws against violators. The points you accumulate after a conviction goes on your driving record. The less severe infractions carry fewer points than the more severe violations. However, many less severe infractions will still add points and, after some time, can lead to a high number.
Here are some violations, if you get a conviction, and the points they carry:
- 1 – 10 mph : 1 point
- 11 – 20 mph: 2 points
- 21 – 30 mph: 3 points
- 31 – 40 mph: 4 points
- 41 mph and over: 5 points
- Driving too slow: 2 points
- Failure to dim your headlights: 2 points
- Tailgating: 4 points
- Failing to yield the right of way: 4 points
- Careless driving: 6 points
- Leaving the scene of an accident: 6 points
- Reckless driving: 8 points
Visit the Nevada DMV website for the full list of violations and points.
Nevada Point System & License Suspension
You must accumulate 12 points or more in 12 months for a Nevada driver’s license suspension. First-time offenders will get 6 month’s suspension. Repeat offenders will get longer suspension times and additional fines.
A DUI conviction will not add points to your driving record but will get you an automatic suspension. A DUI is one of the most severe violations you can commit in Nevada. The suspension will be swift and the fines hefty. The court may require you to complete the driver’s safety courses. Repeat offenders with DUI convictions must install an Ignition Interlock Device (IID) in their cars.
Reinstatement of Your Driver’s License
If your Nevada driver’s license was suspended, you could apply for reinstatement. Before you ask, the DMV requires you complete all administrative penalties. That is if the suspension was a product of too many less severe citations.
However, if your suspension was from a DUI, you must also complete criminal penalties before you apply for reinstatement. Once you can provide proof, you must pay any fees associated with the application to get your driving privilege back.