Nevada DUI Laws, Limits, and Penalties

Reading Time: 2 minutes

The Nevada DMV will suspend your driver’s license if you accumulate 12 points or more in 12 months. Another violation that will suspend your license as well as a DUI conviction. The Nevada DUI Laws makes it clear that driving and drinking is not the right combination. If you stop for the suspension of driving under the influence, the office will take your license. You will also receive a blood alcohol concentration test (BAC) to determine if you are above the legal limit. Refusal to take the BAC test is an automatic suspension, and hefty fines will follow.

Nevada DUI Laws & BAC Test

As part of the Nevada DUI Laws, different tests are used to determine a person’s alcohol or drug consumption before operating a motor vehicle. The analysis provides a reading on the percentage of alcohol in a person’s blood. The percentage is different for minors, adults, and commercial drivers.

Here is a percentage per individual. If the percentage is higher, the person driving above the legal limit and will be arrested by law enforcement. So, if the BAC is or above:

  • 0.02% for minors (under 21 years old)
  • 0.08% for adults (21 years and older)
  • 0.04% for commercial drivers

Getting any of these percentages is to determine that you are above the legal limit.

Nevada DUI Laws & Penalties

Administrative Penalties

A DUI conviction has administrative and criminal penalties. The Nevada DMV imposes the administrative penalties. The penalties usually include suspension and the length of the suspension. The penalties increase for repeat offenders.

Here are some administrative penalties the Nevada DMV will impose for a 1st offender:

  • 90-day suspension
  • Victims compensation civil penalty
  • Ignition Interlock Device
  • Driver’s License Fee
  • Testing Fee
  • Reinstatement Fee
  • SR-22 Certificate of Liability Insurance

Criminal Penalties

The court imposes criminal penalties. The court can impose these penalties on first-time offenders, and the penalties increase for repeat offenders.

Penalties for 1st DUI:

  • Imprisonment from 2 days to 6 months
  • Fine of $400 to $1,000
  • Mandatory DUI school
  • Attend a substance abuse treatment program
  • 90-day license suspension

Penalties for 2nd DUI within 7 years:

  • Imprisonment from 10 days to 6 months
  • Fine $750 to $1,000
  • Mandatory community service 100 to 200 hours
  • Car registration suspension
  • Attend a substance abuse treatment program
  • 1-year license suspension

Penalties for 3rd DUI within 7 years:

  • Imprisonment for 1 to 6 years
  • Fine $2,000 to $5,000
  • Vehicle registration suspension
  • 3-year suspension

Penalties for Minors

The penalties for minors are similar for adults. However, there are additional penalties for minors when there is death or serious injury even if it was the first offense. The penalties include:

  • 3-year suspension
  • Imprisonment of 2 to 20 years
  • Fine of $2,000 to $5,000

Reinstate Your Nevada Driver’s License

You can apply for your license reinstatement after you complete administrative and criminal penalties. The application process and time may vary and due to suspension. The Nevada DMV requires you pay an additional fee for your license reinstatement.

Once you meet all the DMV requirements, you will get your driving privileges back. However, if you receive a restrictive license, you must compile with the DMV requirements to get back your full driving privileges.