Florida Car Insurance Requirements, Laws, and Quotes
Do you reside in Florida and drive a motor vehicle? If so, Florida State law requires all motor vehicles to have insurance. The type of car insurance will vary; therefore, you can purchase one that is more affordable to you and meets your financial need. Your insurance must cover personal injury and property damage.
Auto Insurance Requirements for Florida Residents
Due to a variety of insurance coverage available, Florida requires the minimum coverage to protect a driver and property. So, the minimum car insurance coverage you can purchase in Florida is:
- $10,000 of no-fault or personal injury protection
- $10,000 of property damage liability
Personal Injury Protection Insurance
This type of insurance will cover your medical expenses and income loss. It will also cover the following:
- Members of your household
- Your child on a school bus
- You as a pedestrian or bicyclist involved in a car accident
- Your car passengers
Property Damage Liability Insurance
As stated, this insurance will cover any damages you cause to someone’s property. The property includes buildings or homes that were damaged due to your car accidentally hitting them.
Other Florida Car Insurance
Even though you are required by law to have insurance, you may consider purchasing more than the minimum insurance for your car. The minimum coverage is for accidents by your car only; there are other ways you can receive damages than by getting hit by another car or you run into something else. For this and other reasons, there is additional coverage available. So, here is other insurance you made add to the minimum coverage:
- Comprehensive – it covers damages not related to an accident caused by another car. For example, vandalism.
- Collision – pays for damages caused to your car by another car during an accident.
- Uninsured/underinsured motorist – pays for damages caused by anyone without insurance.
- Bodily injury liability – pays for injuries suffered by victims of an accident you cause or for a lawyer in case you are sued.
- Rental coverage
- Towing and labor
Florida Traffic Violation Penalties & Fines
If you are given a citation in Florida because of a traffic violation, you are responsible for paying the fines. Not paying can result in your license being suspended and additional fees. Also, points will be added to your driving record.
Driving without insurance can result in your license being suspended. Also, your registration and plates will be suspended as well. If you receive notice that your license and insurance are suspended, to reinstate them, you must provide proof of insurance and pay:
- First time offender must pay $150
- The second-time offender must pay $250
- More than two must pay $500 for each offense
Florida Insurance Penalties
If you were involved in an accident that caused bodily harm or property damage, you must purchase bodily harm insurance. To provide proof of such insurance, you must present an SR-22 certificate. To purchase this type of insurance, you must have been:
- Involved in a car accident that resulted in injuries and proper damage
- Your driver’s license suspended because of many traffic violations
- Your driver’s license was habitually revoked
Getting caught while driving without insurance will result in purchasing SR-22 insurance for up to two years.
With a conviction because of a DUI, you must purchase additional insurance and complete an FR-44 form to show proof of purchase. This type of insurance will include bodily injury liability and property damage liability. You must keep the insurance for three years at least.