Other Louisiana Registrations: Motorcycles, Boats, and More in
In Louisiana, it is necessary to register any vehicle with the Office of Motor Vehicles (OMV). If you are registering any vehicle other than a car, it is essential to be wary of a few special guidelines before operating the vehicle in public. You may face certain penalties for driving your vehicle if you don’t have the proper paperwork. Below we break down how to register motorcycles and boats in Louisiana.
Registering a Motorcycle in Louisiana
Before hopping on your bike, be sure to register it with the Office of Motor Vehicles (OMV). Below we provide steps to register out-of-state motorcycles and new bicycles bought in LA.
If you’re a new resident of Louisiana:
- Be sure to register within 30 days of residency
- Get a motorcycle safety inspection done at the OMV and receive a certificate as proof
- Purchase Louisiana motorcycle insurance
- Complete the Vehicle Application (Form DPSMV 1799) and submit at your local OMV
- Show proof of sales tax paid on the bike in your previous state of residence
- Pay $12 registration fee
If you’re an established resident of Louisiana:
- Be sure to register within 40 days of buying the new bike
- Get valid inspection stickers from the OMV
- Obtain proper motorcycle liability insurance
- Provide your Louisiana motorcycle at DMV
- Complete Vehicle Application (Form DPSMV 1799)
- Have proof of ownership and purchase documents
- Provide an odometer disclosure statement (Odometer Disclosure Statement: Form DSPMV 1606)
- Provide an original copy of your financing statement if the bike is on alien
- Pay $12 registration fee
If you want to mail any of the required documents regarding both types of registrations, please send to:
Louisiana Department of Safety and Corrections
Office of Motor Vehicles
P.O. Box 64886
Baton Rouge, LA 70896
Registering a Boat in Louisiana
If you want to sail your boat in Louisiana waters, you will need to title and register your vessel with the LA Department of Wildlife and Fisheries (LDWF) within 15 days of purchase. Please have the following handy:
- Completed Boat Registration/Boat and Motor Title Application (Form 55)
- Proof of purchase document and an original notarized bill of sale
- Assigned boat title
- Completed Boat Registration Tax Payment Certification (Form R-1331) if you purchased your boat from a dealer
- Completed Affidavit for Boat Inspection (REV 2015) if your boat is homemade or doesn’t have a valid Hull identification number (HIN)
- Payment for applicable fees
When you’ve gathered all of this, please mail all these docs to the below, and please allow eight weeks for the LDWF to send your boat’s new title and registration to you
Department of Wildlife and Fisheries
P.O. Box 14796
Baton Rouge, LA 70898
Please ensure you have included all the necessary documents and fees before mailing your Boat and Motor Title Application (Form 55) to the Department of Wildlife and Fisheries at the address listed above. Allow eight weeks for them to process your application and send you back your new boat title and registration.
Thank you for choosing DMVConnect! We hope this information helped get you the documentation you need for your boat. If you have any other questions, please feel free to contact us.
Have a great day!